Best database for finding peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles.
Academic institutions worldwide depend on this database as their core resource of scholarly information. Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.
Credo Reference contains full-text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books that can be searched using key words. Use this database to find definitions, overview articles on a topic, biographical information or even pronunciation of medical terms!
This database combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles, and provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications. In addition, the database includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.
The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Titles include:
The New England Journal of Medicine
The Lancet
Journal of the National Cancer Institute
Journal of Clinical Investigation
American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine
The American Journal of Psychiatry
Diabetes
Canadian Medical Association. Journal; CMAJ
Rheumatology
American Journal of Public Health
Nursing and allied health journals from 1980-present (Gale). Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
Health Research Premium Collection provides a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations.
The collection includes the top ProQuest health and medical databases, including Consumer Health Database, Healthcare Administration Database, MEDLINE, Nursing & Allied Health Database, Psychology Database, Public Health Database, and Health & Medical Collection.
MEDLINE (ProQuest platform) contains over 20 million citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE. Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.
Research full-text titles cited in Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management.
ProQuest Public Health is designed to be the ideal starting point for public health information and research. It delivers core public health literature with access to over 800 publications.
With journals, news, trade publications, reports and more, ProQuest Public Health covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public-health terminology.
Key full-text titles include:
American Journal of Public Health
Maternal and Child Health Journal
Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved
AIDS Education and Prevention
Diabetes Care
Epidemiology and infection
Public Health Nutrition
The Lancet
New England Journal of Medicine
ProQuest Public Health also includes current newspaper articles for uncovering timely results on the latest breaking topics pertaining to public health, such as H1N1, disaster preparedness, and obesity.
9,000 full-text dissertations cover important scholarly topics such as Biostatistics, Environmental Health Sciences, Epidemiology, Health Services Administration, International Public Health, Maternal & Child Health, and Occupational Safety & Health.
Use Ovid to search the following nursing journals at the same time: American Journal of Nursing (AJN), American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing (MCN), and Nursing. No login required on campus. Please contact the library for off campus access.
A peer-reviewed nursing journal in the fields of obstetrical nursing, women's health nursing, and neonatal nursing. No login required if you are on campus. For off campus access, please create an account on the journal's homepage. You must use your Howard College email address.
The Journal of Allied Health is the official publication of the Association of Schools Advancing Health Professions (ASAHP). The Journal is the only interdisciplinary allied health periodical, publishing scholarly works related to research and development, feature articles, research abstracts and book reviews. Readers of The Journal comprise allied health leaders, educators, faculty and students.
The journal focuses on evidence-based practice for women's health, childbearing, and neonatal care. No login is required on campus. For off campus access, please create an account on the journal's homepage. You must use your Howard College email address.
Print Journals Available at the San Angelo Library
Journal of Allied Health
Surgical Technologist
Print Journals Available at the Anthony Hunt Library
Journal of Nursing Education
Journal of Obstetric Gynecologic and Neonatal Nursing
Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services
MCN: The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing
