English (Newsome) - ENGL 1301 - Marino - HC/SWCD Libraries at Howard College

English - Marino

Instructor name: Linda Marino
Instructor email: lmarino@howardcollege.edu

Word
Access Word free through Howard College. Use your Howard College credentials to log on. (These credentials are the same you use for Blackboard and your HC email.)
PowerPoint
Access PowerPoint free through Howard College. Use your Howard College credentials to log on. (These credentials are the same you use for Blackboard and your HC email.)

Exploring Current Events

These resources will guide you in exploring national and international current events.

Up-to-date Feeds from News Organizations

NewsBank Hot Topics
Current research topics covering key global issues, and people about business, economics, crime, politics, science, health, sports, the arts and more.

New York Times

(Select "Website" at end of feed for more information.)

BBC Top Stories

(Select "Website" at end of feed for more information.)

ABC News International

(Select "Website" at end of feed for more information.)

Associated Press World News

(Select "Website" at end of feed for more information.)

NPR World News

(Select "Website" at end of feed for more information.)

CBS World News

(Select "Website" at end of feed for more information.)

Raw Story World News

(Select "Website" at end of feed for more information.)

The World Association of Newspapers

(Select "Website" at end of feed for more information.)

Global Issues

(Select "Website" at end of feed for more information.)

Al Jazeera World News

(Select "Website" at end of feed for more information.)

Return to top

Research Tools

Academic research goes beyond a simple Google search. The research process requires you to think critically and seek quality resources. Although research can sometimes be confusing and frustrating, it can also be very rewarding once you become familiar with the tools and methods of successful researching. Remember, your friendly librarians are always available to assist you with any questions you have.

First, make sure you are evaluating your articles for currency, relevance, authority, accuracy, and purpose. Review the graphics and videos here to get started:

Using CRAAP Test to Evaluate Sources

The following databases, websites, and ebooks will help you on your journey in this course.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
Best database for finding peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles.

Academic institutions worldwide depend on this database as their core resource of scholarly information. Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.
College (Gale In Context)
Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.

Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Major resource for controversial topics from multiple sources. Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Credo Reference
A-Z the World
Detailed information on all major nations of the world.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Exploring Race in Society
Exploring Race in Society provides an in-depth look at the history of race and delivers critical context on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusivity, offering students necessary resources for developing a better understanding of the experiences of racial groups in society.

This database provides proprietary essays written and reviewed by a diverse group of writers representing the fields of academia, journalism, medicine, and other disciplines working to address issues related to race. In addition to the essays, Exploring Race in Society includes full-text articles from academic journals, primary source documents, nonprofit organizations, primary source documents and government agency reports.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more.

With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile)
Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile)
Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.
U.S. History (Gale OneFile)
Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily.
World History (Gale OneFile)
Access balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

The Secrets of College Success by Lynn F. Jacobs; Jeremy S. Hyman
ISBN: 9781118575154

Publication Date: 2013-04-10
Sin Boldly! by Dave Williams
ISBN: 9780786728275

Publication Date: 2009-04-28
The College Student's Guide to Writing a Great Research Paper by Erika Eby
ISBN: 9781601388636

Publication Date: 2011-09-30
Academic Writing by Andrew P. Johnson
ISBN: 9781475823554

Publication Date: 2016-05-08

News (Gale OneFile)
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.
Access World News Research Collection
Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources, from the 1980s to current.

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Updated daily. Also includes many Spanish-language news sources.
Newsweek Magazine Archive, 1933-2012
The Newsweek Archive, one of the largest and most influential weekly consumer magazines, offers digital access the full run of the US edition of Newsweek, from its launch in 1933 to 2012.

Renowned for its high-quality reporting and commentary, the archive charts the key US and global events and issues across eight decades. Launched as News-Week on 17 February 1933, the magazine initially emphasized an objective style of reporting but steadily expanded the type of news content to encompass breaking news, analysis, reviews, and commentary. It is known for its investigative reporting and its extensive coverage of issues relating to racism and civil rights from the 1960s forward. It also includes features and reviews in broader lifestyle, culture, and society topics.
Newswires
EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.

This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, and more. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
Life Magazine Archive, 1936-2000
Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicted national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real life situations.

Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek. Life Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture.
Subjects Covered:

National and international events
Topical stories
Award-winning photojournalism
Politics
Popular culture
History of business
Advertising and photography
National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-2020
Explore over a century of iconic images and photography and fascinating narratives that capture the wonder of our planet and beyond.

As the official journal of the nonprofit National Geographic Society (NGS), National Geographic magazine built its reputation delivering the highest-quality photojournalism and cartography in the world. As generations of researchers and fans will attest, the iconic monthly publication provides unparalleled, in-depth coverage of society, cultures, nature, science, technology, travel, geography, and more -- making it an essential resource for educators and students as well as general readers.
Newsweek Magazine Archive, 1933-2012
The Newsweek Archive, one of the largest and most influential weekly consumer magazines, offers digital access the full run of the US edition of Newsweek, from its launch in 1933 to 2012.

Renowned for its high-quality reporting and commentary, the archive charts the key US and global events and issues across eight decades. Launched as News-Week on 17 February 1933, the magazine initially emphasized an objective style of reporting but steadily expanded the type of news content to encompass breaking news, analysis, reviews, and commentary. It is known for its investigative reporting and its extensive coverage of issues relating to racism and civil rights from the 1960s forward. It also includes features and reviews in broader lifestyle, culture, and society topics.
Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile)
Access the most searched magazines across Gale OneFile focusing on current events, sports, science, and health issues.
Time Magazine Archive, 1923-2000
Published weekly by Time Inc., Time Magazine has focused on conveying to a broad audience both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects.

Intended to be read in under an hour, each issue of Time contains reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment. Capturing the relevant news for a given week, the magazine remains an important resource for researchers studying just about any aspect of 20th-Century history and life. Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek. The Time Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture.
Subjects Covered:

National and international news
Current events
Politics
Sports
Celebrity lifestyle

A-Z the World
Detailed information on all major nations of the world.
Credo Reference
ERIC
ERIC is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is essential for education researchers of all kinds.

The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.6 million records and links to nearly 750,000 full-text documents going back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers. Further, researchers can limit search results by education level such as Early Childhood Education as well as on the intended audience such as Counselors or Teachers.
Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
300 Full text reference books.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more.

With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Major resource for controversial topics from multiple sources. Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Oxford English Dictionary
An unsurpassed guide for researchers in any discipline to the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases across the English-speaking world.

Glossaries, abbreviations, pronunciation guides, frequency, symbols, and more.
Reference Shelf
Online version of The Reference Shelf series.
Smithsonian Open Access
Smithsonian Open Access includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, 9 research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
Teacher Reference Center
Full text journal and periodical articles concerning educational resources.

YouTube
TED

Smithsonian Open Access
Smithsonian Open Access includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, 9 research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

OER Commons

Return to top

Citation Tools and Avoiding Plagiarism

Plagiarism occurs when a writer/speaker uses someone else’s words or ideas without giving them credit. In academic writing, plagiarizing involves using words, ideas, or information from a source without citing it correctly. The following tools will aide you in avoiding plagiarism and properly citing your sources.

Purdue's OWL Plagiarism Guide

ENGL 1301 - Marino

Research Help

Do you need help with your research? Schedule an appointment here:

English - Marino

Exploring Current Events

Up-to-date Feeds from News Organizations

New York Times

BBC Top Stories

ABC News International

Associated Press World News

NPR World News

CBS World News

Raw Story World News

The World Association of Newspapers

Global Issues

Al Jazeera World News

Return to top

Research Tools

Return to top

Citation Tools and Avoiding Plagiarism

Return to top