Skip to Main Content

Research: Home

Decorative image

Research Help

Research Consultation
Do you need help with your research? Schedule an appointment here:

About Academic Research

Academic research goes beyond a simple Google search. The research process requires you to think critically and seek quality resources.  Although research can sometimes be confusing and frustrating, it can also be very rewarding once you become familiar with the tools and methods of successful researching. Remember, your friendly librarians are always available to assist you with any questions you have.

Here are some research related guides to help you on your journey:

 

Library Research Tools

 

                                     image icon for beginning a search in OneSearch  

OneSearch

OneSearch is the library's all-in-one discovery service. This means users can search all library databases, all 4 campus catalogs, and other added sources with only one search. 

To begin, type your keyword(s) into the search bar above or click "Advanced Search."

 

You can also access OneSearch here: OneSearch
     
icon of a video with a play button  

Video Tutorials

Review the library's video tutorials to learn how to use the website and specific databases. 

 

Access the tutorials here: Library Video Tutorials
     
research guides image icon  

Research Guides

Sometimes the best place to start your research is by looking at the available research guides on the Howard College library website.

Librarians have created a large number of web-based research guides to cover different academic subjects, topics, as well as general information. Research guides help you get started with your research in one place instead of trying to figure out where to begin.

 

Access the Research Guides here: Research Guides
     
 

A-Z Databases

Howard College currently subscribes to over 184 databases that cover all subject areas relevant to Howard College students and faculty.

Databases vary depending on their topic: They may include journals, newspapers, art collections, books, videos or other materials. If you are having trouble deciding which database is best for your assignment check with a librarian. 

Access the A-Z Databases here: A-Z Databases
     
 

Campus Book Transfer

Did your research turn up a book that is located at another Howard College/SWCD campus? If so, you can request to Place a Hold on that item. Library staff will then transfer it to your selected location for pick up.
     
 

Interibrary Loan (ILL)

Did your research turn up a book that is located at another college or public library? If so, Howard College can request to borrow that book on your behalf. Use this form to make that request: ILL Request.

Learn more about ILLs here: Interlibrary Loan(ILL) Research Guide
     
research tools image icon  

Additional Research Tools

coming soon