HC Libraries: Open Educational Resources: GovDocs

Why a specific database?

Sometimes Google does not "reach into" a database, or sometimes you only want a specific type of information.

Try directly searching any of these databases to find relevant government documents for your research.

General searches at USA.gov
Look for GAO, CRS or CBO reports.
Try one of the 4 National Libraries
Narrow down to specific Agencies.
1. ex. USDA v. National Ag Library v. USDA Economic Research Service
2. Some agencies aren't .gov ex. si.edu, hsdl.org

There are a variety of institutions, organizations and websites that are publishing CRS Reports. Try the links listed below.

Archive-It Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Congressional Research Service Reports, Hosted by UNT Libraries
EveryCRSreport.com
"We’re publishing reports by Congress’s think tank, the Congressional Research Service, which provides valuable insight and non-partisan analysis of issues of public debate. These reports are already available to the well-connected — we’re making them available to everyone for free."
Federation of American Scientists CRS Reports

Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
Congressional Budget Office (CBO) provides Congress with nonpartisan analysis for economic and budget decisions and with estimates required for the Congressional budget process.

Library of Congress Digital Archives
Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.