Student Services Big Spring Campus

Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress' American collections. The FAQ section provides information on how to search the collections as well as how to cite them.

Documents in law, history and diplomacy.

"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

Over 260 collections of images, texts, and more from the University of Michigan libraries and museums and other regional libraries.

"The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world."

Find and create interactive learning activities with primary source documents that promote historical thinking skills.

"SEAAdoc is an educational resource of the Southeast Asian Archive at the UC Irvine Libraries focusing on post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam and the communities they have developed in the United States. It contains 1,500 visual images and 4,000 pages of searchable text selected from the Archive to represent a cross section of our holdings. SEAAdoc documents the exodus of Southeast Asian refugees and immigrants from their homelands, their experiences in Asian refugee camps, and subsequent resettlement in the United States. Other materials reveal cultural, economic, educational, political, and social aspects of the new Southeast Asian American communities that have developed, and continue to grow, in the United States."

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.

"The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S."

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.

A digital library of printed primary sources in American history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction (1840 – 1900). Although most of the materials come under the category of social history, there are political documents and civil war military documents as well. The collection is made up of digitized pages of books and journals.

The National Archives includes more than 78,000 digital government resources including photographs, maps, drawings, sound recordings and more. Topics include presidents, African Americans, native Americans, Japanese Interment Camps, civil rights, the military and others.

On this site, you can search The New York Public Library's vast holdings, initiate a research visit, submit a query to an archivist, and access digitized material.

The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures. Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.

"The Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials. You may discover anything from an ancestor's picture to a rare historical map. From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections."

Texas and American history resources.

"...a major collection of links to several thousand Texas history primary source documents located in many online collections. he vast majority of links are to documents having to do with nineteenth-century events."

"The Robert Runyon Photograph Collection of the South Texas Border Area, a collection of over 8,000 items, is a unique visual resource documenting the Lower Rio Grande Valley during the early 1900s. It includes glass negatives, lantern slides, nitrate negatives, prints, and postcards, representing the life's work of commercial photographer Robert Runyon (1881-1968), a longtime resident of South Texas. His photographs document the history and development of South Texas and the border, including the Mexican Revolution, the U.S. military presence at Ft. Brown and along the border prior to and during World War I, and the growth and development of the Rio Grande Valley."

"The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, continuously published since 1897, is the premier source of scholarly information about the history of Texas and the Southwest. The first 100 volumes of the Quarterly, more than 57,000 pages, are now available Online with searchable Tables of Contents."

Created by the Texas State Historical Association, this website provides access to images, videos and historical documents related to Texas history. Although access is free, you will need to create an account.

The Texas Collection is Baylor University's oldest special collections library and serves as the University Archive that collects, preserves, and provides access to materials on the history, heritage and culture of Texas.

Designated as the "official repository for archives and memorabilia related to the Texas Rangers service." The museum "includes the service records of Rangers, criminal case files, photographs, correspondence, books and documents going back to the 1830s."

Created by the Texas State Library and Archives commission, this is "an online exhibit of historical artifacts and documents."

This site contains historic artifacts and cultural materials.

Documents in law, history & diplomacy.

Contains committee documents from the 1919 Texas Rangers Investigation, CCC drawings, military service records from 1836-1935, Texas Senate Recordings, 1972 - 2006, and other documents.

Complete biographies of the presidents of Texas. Digitized primary documents are scattered throughout this exhibit site.