Overdue fines are $0.10 per day and a maximum of $5.00 per item.
Lost materials are the replacement cost plus a $5.00 processing fee.
Acceptable Use
1. Howard College and the Information Technology Department are finite by nature. All users must recognize that certain uses of college owned information technology resources may be limited or regulated as required to fulfill the college’s primary teaching, research and public service missions.
2. Users must report any weaknesses in computer security, any incidents of possible misuse or violation of this agreement to the ISO.
3. Users must not attempt to access any data or programs contained on college systems for which they do not have authorization or explicit consent to do so.
4. Users must not share their college account(s), passwords, Personal Identification Numbers (PIN), Security Tokens (i.e. Smartcard), or similar information or devices used for identification and authorization purposes.
5. Users are responsible for all actions that take place with their account.
6. Users must distinguish between ideas, comments, and opinions of the individual user versus those that represent the official positions, programs, and activities of the college.
7. The college is not responsible for the content of documents, exchanges or messages, including links to other information locations on the internet or world wide web, that reflect only the personal ideas, comments and opinions of individual members of the college community, even where they are published or otherwise circulated to the public at large by means of college information technology resources.
8. Students, faculty and staff using information technology resources for purposes of exchanging, publishing or circulating official institutional documents must follow Howard College requirements concerning appropriate content, style and use of logos, seals, or other official insignia.
9. Users of Information Technology resources must not use any software not provided by the college without Information Technology Department approval.
10. Users must not purposely engage in activity that may interference with or disrupt computer systems and networks and related services, by means including, but not limited to, the propagation of computer "worms", "viruses" and "Trojan Horses". Users may not harass, threaten or abuse others; degrade the performance of college information technology resources, deprive an authorized Howard College user access to a college resource, obtain extra resources beyond those allocated, or circumvent any computer security measures.
11. Users must not download, install or run security programs or utilities that reveal or exploit weaknesses in the security of a system. For example, users must not run password cracking programs, packet sniffers, or port scanners or any other non-approved programs on college information technology resources.
12. Use of the College's information technology resources is strictly prohibited for unauthorized commercial activities, fraud, personal gain, and private, or otherwise unrelated to the College business or fundraising. This includes soliciting, promoting, selling, marketing or advertising products or services, reselling College resources, or political lobbying or campaigning.
13. Users must not intentionally create, access, store, view or transmit material which the college may deem to be offensive, indecent or obscene (other than in the course of academic research where this aspect of the research has the explicit approval of the college’s official processes for dealing with academic ethical issues).
14. Illegal material may not be used to perform any legitimate job or academic function and therefore may not be created, accessed, stored, viewed, or transmitted on college information technology resources.
15. A Howard College owned, home based, computer must adhere to all the same policies that apply to use from within Howard College -
facilities. Employees must not allow family members or other non-employees access to college computer systems.
16. Users must not otherwise engage in acts against the aims and purposes of Howard College - as specified in its governing documents or in rules, regulations and procedures adopted from time to time.
17. All user activity on Information Technology resources assets is subject to logging, monitoring, and review.
18. Privately owned information resources are subject to the Acceptable Use Policy when used or operated on campus.
19. As a convenience to the Howard College, user community, some incidental use of Information Technology resources is permitted. The following restrictions apply:
a. Incidental personal use of electronic mail, internet access, fax machines, printers, copiers, telephones, and so on, is restricted to college approved users; it does not extend to family members or other acquaintances.
b. Incidental use must not result in direct costs to the college.
c. Incidental use must not interfere with the normal performance of an employee’s work duties.
d. No files or documents may be sent or received that may cause legal action against, or embarrassment to, the college.
e. Storage of personal email messages, voice messages, files and documents within the college’s Information Technology Department must be minimal and anything deemed to be excessive can be deleted at the discretion of the ISO. Further, it is the responsibility of the individual to have personal data backed up on a privately owned storage device and the college is responsible for any lost personal media or data.
f. All messages, files and documents – including personal messages, files and documents – located on college Information Technology Department equipment are owned by the college, may be subject to open records requests, and may be accessed in accordance with this policy.
| Item | Loan Period | Renewals | Fines |
|---|---|---|---|
| Circulating Books | 3 weeks | 2 x per semester | $0.10 per day |
| DVDs | 3 days | 1 x per semester | $0.10 per day |
| Reference Books | N/a | ||
| Reserves |
that day, in-library use only unless otherwise directed. |
||
| Study Rooms |
That day, in-library use only until reserved by others |
No renewals | |
| Headphones | That day, in-library use only | No renewals |
Howard College
Library Collection Development Procedures
Introduction
The libraries of Howard College maintain collections in support of programs provided at each site and according to the needs of students, faculty, and staff at each location. The collecting of relevant and accurate information, along with the deletion of outdated materials, is vital to the teaching and learning needs of the Howard College community. Several actions are needed to ensure appropriate and authoritative materials are available for all information needs of the college. These policies and procedures guide the management of collections.
Selection of Materials
Selection of materials is the responsibility of the library staff at each site. The primary source for determining materials to purchase is faculty input. Input is solicited through an annual survey and through ongoing communication with faculty. An annual collection analysis is conducted to ensure adequate coverage in each educational program. Literature reviews, core subject bibliographies and lists, core reference materials, recommendations from peer librarians, attendance at library conferences, and student input are additional methods for determining appropriate materials and resources to maintain and purchase for the libraries.
Upon verifying the accuracy and availability of requested materials, orders for purchase will be placed with the most appropriate vendors. The libraries will strive to find the most discounted, reliable sources for materials. Upon receipt and once processed, the requestor will be informed the material is available. In the event requested material is unavailable because it is out of print, has not yet been published, or for other reasons, the requestor will be informed about this status. Every effort will be made to ensure material purchases are equitably distributed across all college programs.
Collection formats include books, magazines, newspapers, DVDs, and possibly other materials. The criteria for selection is as follows:
1. Currency
2. Accuracy
3. Coverage depth
4. Reading level
5. Appropriate subject level
6. Relevance
7. Organization of content
8. Style and aesthetics
Each of these criteria should be considered when deciding which materials are appropriate for purchase during the selection process.
Material will be obtained either through the use of a Howard College credit card or through purchase order, whichever is most convenient and appropriate. Records will be maintained to ensure the exact requested material is received, and discrepancies will be resolved directly with the vendors.
Donations
The libraries accept donations that fit within the appropriate selection criteria. No appraisals concerning the value of donated items will be made by library staff. Donations must be without stipulations or restrictions to be accepted. The acceptance of donated materials will be made on an individual basis. The libraries reserve the right to dispose of donated materials as appropriate. Donors will be informed of this policy when offering items for donation. Only materials in new or like new condition will be added to the collection.
Weeding
Periodically, materials may need to be removed from the collection if they are superseded, outdated, or contain inaccurate information. Materials directly involving certain programs will be removed according to schedule from a given program’s professional accrediting standards – for example all Nursing materials with a copyright date older than 5 years will be removed. Other criteria for removal include wear and environmental hazards such as mold, mildew, insect infestation, and acidic content which threaten the preservation of each collection.
Criteria for Removal:
1. Outdated or superseded material
2. Damaged, soiled, worn, or missing pages
3. Mold, mildew, insect infestation, or acidic content
4. Duplicates of low-interest items
5. Materials considered obsolete by faculty or staff 2
6. Unused or unneeded items
Replacements and Duplicates
Replacement of missing, damaged, lost, or stolen materials will be considered on an item by item basis. Items deemed essential or heavily used will be replaced, if possible.
Criteria for replacement:
1. Are duplicate copies available?
2. Is a more recent edition available?
3. Is the material available at another library site?
4. Are other materials covering the same subject more relevant and appropriate for the collection?
5. Is the desired material available?
Duplicate copies will also be considered for purchase when appropriate.
Criteria to consider for the purchase of duplicate materials:
1. Circulation statistics indicate the title is in high demand
2. Faculty recommends multiple copies to facilitate the completion of assignments
3. Heavily used reference materials
4. Damaged or worn items requiring replacement
Collection Quality
The collection at each site will be evaluated annually according to the following criteria:
1. Currency of information
2. Variety of formats
3. Circulation statistics
4. Accessibility
5. Total number of volumes
6. Number of volumes per FTE student
7. Extent and depth of coverage in a given subject
8. Comparison of the collection with similar institutions
9. Physical characteristics of the collection (wear, damage)
Each collection will be evaluated annually, primarily through a collection analysis at each site by obtaining data from the library catalog. Physical condition will be assessed by direct observation. Input from students, faculty, and staff through direct feedback and annual surveys will also be considered in evaluating the quality of a given collection. The Library Committee also provides an avenue for feedback concerning collection quality. An analysis of each circulating collection will be conducted each summer. From this data, each subject area in each collection can be evaluated for scope, currency, and popularity through catalog data.
Objection to Library Materials
Persons who object to the presence of any materials in the collections of the Howard College Library Systems are encouraged to discuss their concerns with the appropriate dean/director/manager at the given site where the material is present.
If a resolution cannot be reached, then the complainant may file a formal objection.
1. Only objections from current students, faculty or staff of Howard College will be considered.
2. The complainant must complete and submit a “Material Challenge Complaint Form” to the Dean of Libraries.
3. The Dean of Libraries will gather appropriate material possibly including published reviews and opinions, the item’s history of use, and alternate means of access.
4. The Dean of Libraries will reply within 30 days upon receipt of the form to schedule a meeting to discuss and resolve the issue.
5. If the complainant remains unsatisfied, the Dean of Libraries will send a copy of the complaint form and all accompanying documentation to the Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs.
6. The Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs will reply in writing within 30 days of receipt of the form and documentation to schedule a meeting to discuss and resolve the issue.
7. The matter will then be discussed by the complainant and Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs in consultation with the Dean of Libraries for an appropriate resolution.
8. The Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs will reply in writing within 30 days to inform all parties of the decision.
9. The decision of the Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs will be final.
