Registered HC library users have access to electronic databases that include full-text documents, eBooks, and multimedia. All databases may be accessed remotely using usernames and passwords available to registered users from the library. Contact the library by phoning 432-264-5090, emailing jdefore@howardcollege.edu, or in-person if you need help.
Several of the library databases contain magazine articles. Search the A-Z Database List by type to find these sources.
Several of the library databases contain access to full text newspaper articles. Search the A-Z Database List by type to find these sources.
Some popular Newspaper databases are,
If you need quick basic information on a topic, encyclopedias and dictionaries are a great place to start. The library has several encyclopedias and dictionaries online. Search the A-Z Database List by type to find these types of resources.
Some popular Reference Databases are,
You will find scholarly peer reviewed articles in many of the library databases. Search the A-Z Database List by type to find these resources.
The Online Catalog is the key to finding books in the HC library collection. All books and DVDs in the HC Library are listed in the Online Catalog. The catalog listing also includes information about their location on the shelves. The Online Catalog will help you find any book in the HC collection. There are also electronic books available in the databases. You can access these books by clicking on a highlighted link in the book record.
The HC Library uses the Dewey Classification System, a system that organizes books and other library materials by subject, allowing you to browse the shelves for materials on a specific topic.
